Digital Home Thoughts - News & Reviews for the Digital Home

Be sure to register in our forums and post your comments - we want to hear from you!


Zune Thoughts

Loading feed...

Apple Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...





All posts tagged "reviews"


Friday, June 25, 2010

Samsung WB650, Kodak Z981 and Canon SX210 Reviewed

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 05:00 AM

Here's a trio of reviews of superzoom cameras, including one of the winner's of dpreview's travel zoom round up, the Samsung WB650. PhotographyBLOG reviews it, and like dpreview, came away pretty impressed by it. Between this and the Samsung EX1/TL500, it seems that Samsung's slowly creeping in as a viable brand for digital cameras. Hopefully they can keep the momentum going in this very tight market.

More cameras after the read link.

Read more...


Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Blu-Ray 3D on Your Laptop with PowerDVD 10?

Posted by Don Tolson in "Digital Home Software" @ 08:00 AM

Product Category: Video/Audio Player
Manufacturer: CyberLink
Where to Buy: Amazon [affiliate]
Price: Starts at $49.95USD for the Standard version. Ultra version tested is $99.95USD.
System Requirements: Windows XP SP3/Vista/Win7 -- Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz+ or AMD Athlon 64 2800+ 1.8Ghz+; 512meg RAM, DirectX 9.0. For Blu-Ray: WinXP SP3/Vista/Win 7 -- Intel Pentium 4, CoreDuo or Core2Quad or Athlon 64 4400+, 1Gig RAM; blu-ray compatible drive. Full system requirements can be found on the CyberLink website.
Specifications: Video: Blu-Ray, AVCHD, AVCREC, MPEG-4, MPEG-2, SMPTE, VC-1, WMV-HD, RM/RMVB, MKV, FLV, HDMI3.1. Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1/7.1/HD, DTS/HD/96/24, HDMI3.1, AAC. A full description of supported formats is available here.

Pros:

  • Wide variety of video and audio formats supported;
  • Blu-Ray and 3D emulation (needs compatible screen) with Blu-Ray 3D native support coming soon;
  • Includes TrueTheatre video 'noise' filters and stabilizer.

Cons:

  • Music interface is lacking in 'modern' features (album art, playlists, etc.);
  • May overload some systems;
  • Overloaded with 'social networking' interfaces.

Summary:

PowerDVD by CyberLink has been the DVD player of choice for OEMs for a number of years, providing a simple way to view movies on home PCs and laptops. With version 10, CyberLink extends the capabilities of the software to the point where a well-equipped media PC can compete with dedicated home theatre equipment. With Blu-Ray (TM), Dolby (TM) 7.1 and remote support, all you really need is a big screen monitor and you'd be all set. Let's take a look and see if you really need that dedicated Blu-Ray player.

Read more...


Monday, June 21, 2010

PhotographyBLOG Reviews Adobe Lightroom 3

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Software" @ 11:00 AM

http://www.photographyblog.com/revi...htroom_3_review

"Close on the heels of Adobe's release of Photoshop CS5, Lightroom 3.0 is now available. Lightroom, unlike Photoshop, is built from the ground up for photography and the unique workflow that we have as digital photographers. Rather than dealing with 3D, vector graphics, and other general graphics tasks that aren't of interest to most of us, Lightroom distills the features down to what is important - image management and optimization. While Lightroom 2 is a popular option for many, the latest release adds some new features that improve the overall workflow and quality of output."

PhotographyBLOG takes a spin at the latest incarnation of Lightroom, and gives it the thumbs up. The main attraction of Lightroom for me is its DAM (Digital Asset Management) capabilities, though currently it's still weak at handling video files, if you're a hybrid user.

For me, I'm still waiting for Nikon to make a Capture Plugin for Photoshop/Lightroom. That's combining the best of both worlds: Capture's better image quality with Adobe's better and more universal workflow.


Friday, June 18, 2010

Digital Photography Review Rounds Up 13 Travel Zoom Cameras

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 12:30 PM

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q21...rouptravelzoom/

"The so-called 'Travel Zoom' category hasn't been around long - in fact the first camera that could really lay claim to the label was the Panasonic TZ1, released in 2006. The idea of a wide zoom lens in a genuinely compact form factor (as opposed to a 'bridge' or DSLR type) has obvious mass appeal, and as a result, all of the major camera manufacturers (and a couple of the minor ones too) have been pulling out all the stops in an effort to cater for this demand. As a consequence, this group test covers a lot more cameras than the last test of this type, which we published a year ago. Since then, new wide-zoom compact lines have been introduced, from the likes of Casio and Nikon, and established ones, like Panasonic's ZS/TZ series, have matured."

Just in time for the summer holidays, DPReview.com takes 13 cameras from this relatively new but popular category and pits them against each other. The winners of this roundup are a little surprising; for once a Panasonic or Canon camera didn't win this shoot out. I'll leave readers to find out who did, but I'm pleased that one of the cameras in the group comes from a company I was talking about just a while back. Good to see some competition among the manufacturers!


Thursday, June 17, 2010

PhotographyBLOG Reviews the Ricoh GXR with P10 Module

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 06:30 AM

http://www.photographyblog.com/revi..._gxr_p10_review

"The Ricoh P10 is the third lens-sensor module for the revolutionary Ricoh GXR camera system, which combines the lens and sensor into a single interchangeable unit. The new P10 unit combines a 10.7x, 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6 lens with a 10 megapixel 1/2.3-inch back-illuminated CMOS image sensor."

PhotographyBLOG takes a look at Ricoh's GXR, this time with the P10 module. The GXR is a pretty unique camera as it uses modules that come complete with both the lens and the sensor. The result is that unlike most other interchangeable lens cameras, the only thing that is consistent is the UI. The image quality is going to be varied, as different sensors will give different results.

While PhotographyBLOG is very impressed with this setup, I myself am a little unsure. In addition to the usual complaint about the system being potentially expensive as a new sensor has to be bought with each lens iteration, it is taxing to have to learn how to extract the best possible images from each sensor. To top it off, there is only one module with a large sensor; the A12 module with an APS-C sized sensor and a 33mm f/2.5 Macro lens. As it stands, while the UI and build quality is very nice, the system currently is very tiny, and the pricing restrictive.


Sunday, June 13, 2010

Luminous Landscape Examines the Samsung TL500/EX1

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 04:00 PM

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/r...s/sam-ex1.shtml

"Every now and then a camera comes along that simply feels right from the moment that you pick it up. It's a curious combination of design attributes, build materials and ergonomics that makes this so. The Samsung EX1 (TL500 in some markets) is one such camera. Given how new to camera making Samsung is, it's a bit surprising that they got so much right. But maybe not."

Michael Reichmann of Luminous Landscape takes the Samsung TL500 (EX-1 in Europe and parts of Asia) through one of this usual hands-on reviews, and came away pretty impressed with it, lamenting only on the low resolution of the video mode, and the proprietary RAW format used by the camera. I'm a little surprised with the outcome of the review - Samsung's cameras have to date, been plagued with image quality issues like poor noise control and overall lack of sharpness due to de-mosiacing algorithms. I'm also a little surprised by the lack of image quality tests in the review. While Michael generally doesn't do the bench testing sites like dpreview.com do, he generally runs through an ISO comparison test and maybe a colour checker test before posting. I'm now curious to see how the camera fared at higher ISOs, beyond the one lone 100% crop shown!


Thursday, June 10, 2010

Pentax Optio X90 Reviewed by Photography Blog

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 10:30 AM

http://www.photographyblog.com/revi...PhotographyBLOG

"The Pentax Optio X90 is a super-zoom digital camera that looks and feels like a DSLR. Featuring a 26x, 26-676mm lens with a sensor-shift Shake Reduction system, the X90 should cover most photographic bases. Also on offer are a 12 megapixel sensor, 720p HD movies with an HDMI port, electronic viewfinder and a 2.7 inch LCD screen, Aperture-Priority, Shutter-Priority and Manual shooting modes, and a 1cm macro mode."

Another day, another superzoom. Photography Blog takes a look at Pentax's offering and are quite impressed by it. Me? I'll say I'm getting bored of the me-too cameras coming out in this category. Every big photography brand has one, and a few (including the Pentax) are quite similar. Given the zoom progression (20x, 24x, 26x etc) happening in roughly the same time from different manufacturers, I'm inclined to believe that there's one or two ODMs out there making the same camera but customised for each different brand name. The digital camera market is a very competitive nowadays so many of the big brands are willing to sub-contract out the mass-market cameras to cut costs, then do a minimum of marketing and hope enough sales are made based on brand-name recognition. I suspect this brings in a good sum of cash to keep other operations afloat.

On the camera proper: It's got a big zoom, it's not too expensive, um, that's not really more to it. Need long focal lengths on the cheap, get one of these. I personally would take a look at the Fujifilm HS10 because of the potentially better sensor involved, as well as an even bigger zoom ratio, but I won't get my hopes up there as well. Like I said, this area of the market feels a bit tired.


Wednesday, June 9, 2010

The Luminous Landscape tests Topaz Labs DeNoise 4.1

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Software" @ 10:22 AM

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/r...are/topaz.shtml

"My first reaction when they announced it was kind of ho-hum, yet another up-date of a noise removal program – we already have at least three very decent ones (Neat Image, Noise Ninja and Noiseware), not to speak of the improved tools in Lightroom, Camera Raw and other image editing applications. But Topaz Labs claims it’s the best on the market and the download of a fully-functional 30-day trial is free, so why not give it whirl? I did and I was impressed. It’s easy to install (a plug-in in the Photoshop Filter menu, but also works with Lightroom, Photoshop Elements and several other applications), easy to use and the results (noise reduction with detail retention) are the best I’ve achieved from any noise mitigating application."

(Image credit: Topaz Labs)

Long-time contributor to The Luminous Landscape Mark Segal has written his impressions on the newcomer for software noise reduction. The first I believe was Neat Image, which I found out from a professional friend back in 2004-2005, and then came Noise Ninja. I eventually got Noise Ninja, and of all the software you can buy for your digital photos, I think this would be the best $79-99 spent.

Topaz DeNoise does look very good. I'll give it a go myself in the near future. I'd like to hear our reader's experiences with such software, so post a comment if you have!


Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Sony NEX-3 and NEX-5 Reviewed by Digital Photography Review

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 03:45 AM

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/SonyNex5Nex3/

"The waiting is now over as, following the showing of some mock-ups at PMA and a torrent of teasers and leaks, Sony finally officially announced its NEX system last month. The details are exactly what you'd expect - HD video capable APS-C sensors in small bodies. What might take you by surprise is just how small the bodies are - the NEX-5 in particular being tiny. In fact the cameras are too small to include in-body image stabilization units, as found in Sony's SLRs, and instead use lens-based 'Optical SteadyShot'. These NEX cameras will come under the Alpha brand but do not make use of the Alpha lens mount, instead using the completely new all-electronic E-mount."

dpreview must've had the review for the NEX cameras on full tilt because it didn't seem so long ago that the NEX cameras were announced. As expected, the latest generation of Sony APS-C sensors do well, but are let down by a control system that is geared towards point-and-shoot users.

As I said before in my post in reaction to the NEX announcement, "For the enthusiast, proprietary connector, lack of viewfinder, and modal buttons are just bad bad bad." As expected, a lack of controls, together with a modal control system and menu-driven UI, just means the camera is not one for those who want to fiddle with the camera settings, or have a greater interest in the technical aspects of photography. Less buttons aren't necessary better.

I'm also not a fan of its styling - all the lengths gone to keep the body size down is negated with the larger lenses the APS-C sensor will require. Indeed, the E mount is actually taller than the cameras, hence the protrusions at the top and the bottom (very noticeable on the smaller NEX-5).

I'm sure Sony will sell plenty of NEX units, but I suspect they will go mostly to well-heeled style-conscious point-and-shoot upgraders rather than the enthusiast crowd. Given that the mainstream crowd is always bigger, will this mean Sony might have a hit on their hands regardless of the lukewarm rating given?


Monday, June 7, 2010

dpreview reviews the Olympus E-PL1

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 10:32 PM

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/olympusepl1/

"Stepping in to fill this void is the Olympus E-PL1, a camera that brings a stripped-down body and simplified interface to the Micro Four Thirds format. This means no control dials (and therefore an awful lot of button-pressing the further away from the automated exposure modes you venture), but it also brings a simple results-orientated 'Live Guide' interface to allow you take control of the i-Auto for people happier to point-and-shoot (sorry Mr Spacey)."

So DPReview takes a look at one of the cheapest Micro Four Thirds camera available (until the Panasonic G10 is released), and puts it through the the dpreview testing bench, and gives an overall favourable review. Still, I've tried the E-PL1 before, and the lack of any command dials makes it a little harder to use. If you're a point-and-shoot user looking for something with a bit better image quality, the E-PL1 might be worth a look.


Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Digital Camera Resource Page Reviews the Samsung NX10

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 08:00 PM

http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/s...ung/nx10-review

"The NX10 ($699) marks Samsung's bold entry into the increasingly competitive interchangeable lens camera market. It's designed to go head-to-head with the likes of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 and, to a lesser extent, the more compact (and viewfinder-less) Olympus E-PL1 and Sony NEX-5 cameras. Samsung never really got any traction selling regular digital SLRs, so now they're trying their hand at an ILC. Based on my experiences with the NX10, I think Samsung has a good chance of success in this space."

Samsung's entry to the fast-growing EVIL (Electronic Viewfinder Interchangeable Lens) market is based on an APS-C sensor, which about 70% larger in area compared to the Four Thirds sensors. Long-time digital camera reviewer Jeff Keller at DCRP takes a look at the NX10, and while he was quite favourable about many aspects of the camera, he does conclude that its higher ISOs are not as good as the Micro Four Thirds cameras. It's a good reminder to everyone that sensor size is not everything. It needs to be backed up by the accompanying electronics package and the firmware to properly process the images. Also it's a reminder that such expertise in producing quality images needs to be earned; Nikon and Canon both spent years getting to where they are today.


Thursday, May 27, 2010

PhotographyBLOG reviews Canon SD4000 IS Digital ELPH

Posted by Lee Yuan Sheng in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 09:30 PM

http://www.photographyblog.com/revi..._300_hs_review/

"The Canon IXUS 300 HS (also known as the SD4000 IS Digital ELPH) is a premium compact camera with some advanced features that grab the attention of any discerning photographer. These include a back-illuminated 10 megapixel CMOS sensor, a 3.8x, 28-106mm lens with a fastest aperture of f/2.0 and optical image stabiliser, 3.7 frames per second burst mode at full resolution, 720p HD movie recording with stereo sound and a HDMI port, 240fps movies, a 3 inch LCD screen, and Aperture and Shutter Priority exposure modes."

PhotographyBLOG reviews the latest and greatest Digital ELPH / IXUS camera from Canon, and generally were quite happy with it. Personally, I've given up on small sensor cameras, so while the specifications for a compact point-and-shoot are very enticing (fast 28mm wide f/2.0 class lens, manual controls, 240 FPS movies), the practice of cramming double-digit megapixels along with the new generation of EVIL cameras means I'm willing to put up with the extra bulk for better photos and more flexibility in shooting.

That said, I have been ranting at Canon for making so many ho-hum Powershot cameras, and it is refreshing to see them try something a little more adventurous. Also refreshing is seeing sensor manufacturers (in this case Sony) holding back on the megapixels a bit. Here's hoping that innovation in this incredibly crowded sector of the camera market continues to exist.


Wednesday, May 26, 2010

And the Mouse Came Back, the Very Next Day

Posted by Hooch Tan in "Digital Home News" @ 10:00 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/25/...-mice-reviewed/

"Many tech pundits have already started drafting an obituary of the computer mouse like the one above, but let's be clear: we think the death of the mouse is greatly exaggerated. In fact, we're so convinced the mouse isn't dead that we've been testing some of the best on the market for the last couple of months. Click on below to find out why we think the lowly mouse has more than a few good years left, and which ones out there deserve your attention."

I do not know if the mouse will ever fully go away, but I can certainly see other user interfaces eating away at its marketshare. Yes, I am thinking of touch, but I also believe that voice recognition, while still very clunky, can also play a role in our future in interacting with technology. Mice are a fact of life in computing today, and the classic mouse + keyboard combination is difficult to beat for a lot of productivity work. As for mice, well, I am a Logitech man. Always have been and always will be. The basic shape they use works well with me, and I have yet to find anything that works as smoothly for me as their MX series. Anyone have a favourite mouse that they are still clinging on to and hoping it will never fail?


Friday, May 21, 2010

Nikon Coolpix L110 Reviewed By CNet

Posted by Andy Dixon in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 03:00 PM

http://reviews.cnet.com/digital-cam..._Search+Results

"It's really pretty amazing what Nikon is able to offer on the Coolpix L110. For the same MSRP as 2009's L100 ($279.95), Nikon retains that model's wide-angle lens with 15x zoom and sensor-shift image stabilization, but increases the camera resolution from 10 to 12 megapixels and the 3-inch LCD resolution from 230K dots to 460K; added a 720p movie mode, a built-in stereo microphone, and HDMI output; added use of the optical zoom and autofocus while shooting video; and includes four AA lithium batteries for 840 shots or 7 hours of video out of the box."

CNet have reviewed and posted a nice brief overview of the Nikon Coolpix L110 as well as a video, where they go through the main features included in the camera, the specs, and their impressions of it. I actually like the look of this camera as it has a nice shape to it that looks like it would fit my hand comfortably, yet not so big as a full DSLR would be, so easy to carry about.


Friday, May 14, 2010

Casio EX-FH100 Review

Posted by Jon Childs in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 01:00 PM

http://www.photographyblog.com/revi...x_fh100_review/

"The new Casio EX-FH100 is a new high-speed, high-zoom digital compact camera, marrying a 10x ultra-wide lens with a 10 megapixel back-illuminated CMOS sensor and the ability to shoot at an amazing 40 frames per second. In addition, the EX FH100 can record high-speed movies at 1,000fps, 420fps, 240fps, or 120fps, has a Prerecord Continuous Shutter setting that starts shooting when the shutter button is depressed halfway, and offers high-speed Night Scene, Lighting, Anti-shake and Portrait scene modes which combine several burst images into a single, clear photo. The FH100 can also shoot 720p HD movies..."

This is quite an interesting camera. It doesn't have the best picture quality, and the movie modes are a little quirky, but if you want to capture high frame rate videos it is in a class by itself. The 40 frames per second mode could make for some interesting photos. Photography blog has nothing but nice things to say about the build quality, which you would hope for in this price range. I can't help but think these high speed video modes would make for some interesting and funny videos, and also allow me to perfect my golf swing (maybe that's asking a little much). If you want to capture lots of fast paced action this may be the camera for you, otherwise you can get a camera that takes better pictures for less.


Saturday, May 8, 2010

Sanyo Xacti DMX-CS1 Reviewed

Posted by Andy Dixon in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 05:00 AM

http://en.akihabaranews.com/45473/review/review-sanyo-xacti-dmx-cs1?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed: Akihabaranews_en (AKIBA EN)

"Sanyo is now a well-known company, especially for their huge line-up of Xacti HD camcorders... A series that's also known for their pistol-shaped camera. And since the first Xacti model, the Japanese manufacturer worked hard to improve every part of the device to make it more powerful in a smaller and thinner body. And earlier this year, Sanyo kindly sent us their latest Xacti DMX-CS1 (or VSP-CS1 in the US), which is introduced as the world's smallest, lightest and thinnest dual camera. During the press conference we had the chance to get a brief hands-on, and we have to admit that wasn't the most exciting shape... Indeed, our camcorder is simply lightweight and ultra slim, but we would say incompatible with our hands."

Sanyo's latest offering in the Xacti range of HD camera's has been reviewed by the Akihabara News website. I've never owned a small pocket HD camera like this as I believe they simply don't produce a quality that I would be happy with, and this review seems to back it up. Also with so many phones having a camera with video mode built in these days do we need devices like this? Isn't it more likely that the camera in mobile phones are going to get better and remove the need to carry a separate device, much like they have removed the need to carry a PDA/MP3 player and phone, or even the way normal point and shoot camera's have now got HD video functions added to them. You can see the full review and specs over at the Akihabara website.


Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Nikon D300s DSLR Body Reviewed

Posted by Matthew Shanks in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 07:00 AM

Product Category: Digital SLR (Single-lens Reflex) Camera Body
Manufacturer: Nikon
Where to Buy: Amazon [USA, Affiliate], The Camera Store [Canada]
Price: $1649 USD (Amazon), $1598 CAD (The Camera Store)
System Requirements: Nikon F mount lenses required
Specifications: 12.3MP, 3.0" LCD Monitor, 7fps, dual memory card slots, ISO 100-6400; details from Nikon site.

Pros:

  • Great ergonomics, buttons and dials well placed and easy to operate;
  • Excellent low light capability with large ISO range;
  • Fast 7-8fps continuous shooting speed;
  • Extremely customizable.

Cons:

  • Continuous autofocus not available during movie recording;
  • Movie recording clips limited to 5 minute duration with 720p resolution;
  • Autofocus groups not visible in viewfinder at all times;
  • Exposure meter and histogram not available on LCD monitor during Live View.

Summary: The impressive Nikon D300s is an update of the well-regarded D300 DX format digital SLR body, and is a recommended upgrade for existing Nikon users, or as a new body for photographers looking for a powerful and versatile camera.

Read more...


Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Epson Helps You Print Your Large Life

Posted by Hooch Tan in "Digital Home News" @ 02:00 PM

http://www.trustedreviews.com/print...kjet-Printer/p1

"If the numbers of ink colours manufacturers build into their high-end photo printers goes on increasing, there’ll be one for every conceivable colour before long. If you don't believe us, witness the Epson Stylus Photo R2880 and its new UltraChrome K3 ink system. It uses a mammoth eight colours, including a 'vivid' magenta, two grey inks and a choice of blacks, making it ideal semi-professional and professional photo printing."

While we keep on talking about the great benefits of the paperless office, it is still a very, very long way away. Personally, I have found little use for printers, be it for photos or personal or business use. I like keeping everything digital. It is easier to store, access and manipulate. However, I can see how some people might want hard copies of things, especially photographs of precious moments. And for those, we turn to inkjet printers, now with more ink tanks! It has been a while since I've used printers, but they still appear to be quite popular, and ink prices are still high enough to make me cringe. I imagine that the print quality has gone up though, especially if they have more colour tanks than I can count on one hand. Anyone has experience with the prosumer level printers and the photos they produce?


Tuesday, April 20, 2010

We all live in a WiFi World

Posted by Hooch Tan in "Digital Home News" @ 01:00 PM

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...point,2605.html

"By 2006, we had multiple antennas and MIMO technology (spatial multiplexing and the sending of discrete data sub-streams along different paths within a single radio link) along with an upgrade to the fetal 11n spec, and sustained throughput jumped to anywhere from the 40s to the 80s in Mb/s. Performance was all over the board and patch updates seemed to be raining from the sky for a while, but everyone eventually realized that we were never going to get even remotely close to that promised 300 Mb/s 11n spec."

Routers are probably the most critical part of a home network, yet most people I know of think they are all the same. As far as Internet routing capabilities, that is probably close to true. Consumer level routers do have upper limits on how fast they can handle NAT, but most broadband options do not come close to those limits. However, routers also play the critical role in providing WiFi access, and depending on the setup, it can make a world of difference. I am a wired man; I will take an ugly blue cable running along the hallway over WiFi any day, but there is a time and a place for everything, and what router you use for your untethered goodness can make a world of difference, especially if you want to even attempt to stream content wirelessly.


Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Daniusoft Media Converter Ultimate Review

Posted by Chris Sacksteder in "Digital Home Software" @ 07:00 AM

Figure 0

Product Category: Media Conversion Utility
Manufacturer: Daniusoft
Where to Buy: Daniusoft
Price: $59.95
System Requirements: Windows XP, Vista, or 7 (32- or 64-bit)
Specifications: Takes about 73MB of disk space

Pros:

  • Does many different media chores;
  • Easy to use;
  • Supports many media types.

Cons:

  • Sometimes options and choices aren't clear;
  • Technical support is prompt and courteous, but ineffective;
  • Documentation is incomplete for some functions.

Summary: So, you have a pile of great home video clips from that new digital camera. Wouldn't it be great to put some scenes of cute little junior on your cell phone to show off to friends, or on a DVD to send to Grandma? Or maybe The Kid has some favorite DVDs to watch in the car on a nice little netbook without a optical drive. Search the Internet and you find 100's of choices for "free" video conversion tools; a few hours or days later you've tried 10 or 12 kinds cripple-ware, ad-ware, and nag-ware , rebooted 18 times to install and un-install them, and had 3 crash your computer. And, none of them are really free OR do what you need. Time to get serious.

The Daniusoft Media Converter Ultimate claims to be a "multimedia processing Titan" that can " . . . remove DRM copy protection . . . , Rip DVD to most popular video files, Convert Video Music between different files, burn movie to DVD disc, directly transfer songs & video to your portable players like iPod, iPhone, PSP, Cell Phone, etc . . ." Is this Titan worth $59.95?

Read more...


Featured Product

The Canon PowerShot S100 - The incredibly fun and small camera that offers you 12.1 megapixels with a bright f/2.0 lens and full 1080p video recording . MORE INFO

News Tip or Feedback?

Contact us

Thoughts Media Sites

Windows Phone Thoughts

Digital Home Thoughts

Zune Thoughts

Apple Thoughts

Laptop Thoughts

Android Thoughts

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...